LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

create moving tiled pattern

This seems like it should be really simple but I just can't get it to work. I'm trying to create a series of images of tile patterns in one vi which will be displayed as a repeating sequence on the front panel of another vi (attached as Slave.vi). All together the whole image needs to be covered. As a start I'm keeping it simple as four pictures of squares which move in a rotating pattern.

The vi below runs and, with the square size = 20, does what it's supposed to. However, it doesn't work with any other square size and doesn't work near the edges.

I warn you, I'm quite new to Labview so it's not pretty to look at and very buggy. I'm sure there are better ways to do the image display and manage front panels etc. but I don't know how, feel free to advise though.

Currently I'm building arrays containing the pattern and converting these to images later on. I've also tried drawing the squares on with IMAQ and had no luck and how I currently handle the arrays is really cumbersome and slow. In the future I would like to expand this to more complex patterns (ideally hexagons and more than 4 frames to increase the space between shapes in each one) so if you could suggest a method that's easily adaptable that would be perfect. Thank you

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(2,467 Views)

Hi ed,

even without IMAQ installed I see a lot of "unusual" code in your VIs…

The vi below runs and, with the square size = 20, does what it's supposed to. However, it doesn't work with any other square size

Well: you do some divide operations and get DBL values from them. With those DBL values you set the max iteration count of loop - with a big read coercion dot. you know what they are good for?

- Why do you do a SetMatrixElements operation, where a simple replaceArraySubset would work too?