LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

confused in producer-consumer structure

I am consufed about the structure for the code I am studying on. Basicly, my code is comprised of 4 processes: acquisition, control, analysis, and monitor. I was advised to use producer consumer structure. I prepared two- still preparing not completed yet- but I am not quite sure which one is more efficient and suitable the code. I attached both of them in zip files: v2 is prepared by pro/con and state machine, in v4 each processes are separated instead of using state machine.

Besides, I have some questions to be quite sure that I can implement on the program:

1-Can I transfer daqmx channels task outs via clusters? Is it convenient?

2-Can I transfer refnums via clusters?

3-I have used so many types of and number of elements in a cluster. Can this be problematic?

I am all open your suggestions. Thanks in advance.

Egemen
Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 2
(1,932 Views)

Egemon,

I have looked only briefly at your VIs, so I may have overlooked some points.

Regarding V2:

1. Your Consumer loop has data depedencies on the Producer loop. This means that the Consumer will not start running until the Prodcuer stops. This defeats the whole purpose of the parallel loop architecture.

To transfer the time information between loops, that data needs to be in a queue just as the array from the DAQmx Read is in a queue. Either use multiple queues or create a cluster of the data and feed it through one queue.

2. Your timing formula probably does not work the way you want. 60/(sample rate per minute) gives the time in seconds between samples. The Wait function is called Wait (ms) because its input is in milliseconds. You need to multiply the seconds by 1000 to get milliseconds.

3. You do not need a Wait (ms) function in the consumer loop. The Deqeue function will wait until data is present.