LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

communicate with multiple SPI devices(ADXL355)

HI Labviewers:

I'm new to Labview,and now I'm using NI-8452 & ADXL355  to get the acceleration and Temperature data.

This VI is working properly.

Now,however,I need to communicate with multiple SPI devices(ADXL355) simultaneously.

I thought that I need to change CS line continuously ,but when I put two ADXL355 in parallel (as drawing)

I couldn't get the right data .

Could someone teach me how exactly should I do,thanks for your patiet.

(I know this VI is very Messy,sorry about that)

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(3,311 Views)

Hi haryx0x0164,

SPI communication utilizes a Slave Select (SS) line to set slave devices to receive data and there are two ways you configure the physical connection of your slaves to the master. This Whitepaper does a good job of explaining the different physical layer configurations for multiple slaves with a SPI master.

Regards,
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(3,286 Views)

HI Andrew Cole,

Thanks for your reply,assume I got my physical connection correctly.

How should I modify my VI program to communicate with two chip .

I already tried use case structure with to chip and switch two cases continuously 

It can work but couldn't get right data.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 8
(3,277 Views)

The chip select input in the 845x api selects which of the cs lines on your 845x device goes low to set a device into receive mode. So, I would revise your statement "I need to change CS line continuously" to "[you] need to change that input whenever you want to tell a device to listen". If you want multiple devices to listen at the same time, use the same cs line for both devices. 

Unfortunately, I am travelling at the moment, so I don't have hardware to test your code with. But looking at it, a few things stand out immediately: