cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

change exposure time of camera and take picture

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello everybody,

I am very new to the world of LabView. Please excuse my question if it is very simple.

I have a Hamamatsu Orca Flash 4LT. I want to write a program to change the Exposure Time of camera to 4 different values and take a picture of the object in each ET. In other words, I want my program to set the ET to 85 millisecond and take a picture. I also want the program to the the same job to ET of 75,65, and 55. So I have written a program and attached to this question. When I highlight execution (the icon which looks like a lamp in block diagram) and run the code, it does the job perfectly. It takes 4 pictures of the object and those pictures are correct. By correct, I mean that when I do the same job manually (without labview) and compare the 4 pictures from my code to the 4 pictures from camera's own software, the pictures are identical. 

However, when I do not highlight the execution (turn off the little lamp) and run my code, the pictures from labview are not same as the pictures from camera's software. I am sure that this problem has something to do with timing. I should put a wait time somewhere but I don't know where.

I would be highly apreciated if anyone can take a look and give me a hint. 

Thanks in advance,

Sina

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(3,003 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Sina90

There is one spot in your code where I can see benefit of a wait statement, and that would be between the function of Get Parameter, and Wait Next Frame.  I'm thinking it takes some time for the camera to execute the command to set the exposure time.  Since the while loop seems to run at a rate of about every 100 msec, and that still seems to be too fast, you'll have to figure out how much time to wait between those functions.  I'm guessing more than 100 msec.