cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

capacitor tester

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi everybody, 

I'm new at labview and was hoping if someone could help with a basic question.

I have to make a program that checks capacitors, the program uses a Velleman card VM110N or K8055.

I try to give is short and simple:

-Measure time.

-send 5 volts (255) to the card (which has a resistor and a capacitor wired up to it)

-measure the time it takes to get over 63% (this is 1 Tau)

-charge another 5 tau until fully charged.

the program also has to discharge, measure time etc again, calculate tau again, discharge another 5 tau, rinse and repeat, with the data you can calculate the capacity of capacitor and give approval or disapproval by a led lighting up and finally save it into an excel document.

but for now I'd like it to just charge, measure time until 63%, then I'd have 1 Tau,  (and then charge 5XTau.)

The rest I should be able to manage.

even if you don't have that velleman card I hope you can give some comments what I did wrong, I set it up pretty basic, remember I'm just a beginner, only the stuff in the flat sequence is mine, the rest was set up already, I've been at this for ages (really, I'm too embarrassed to even say how long), I'm sure it's quite simple, but if someone could just give me a clue or two.

Hope someone can help me, thanks so much in advance!

(ps I posted this somewhere else too, but I thought this was a better location for my question even though this thread is very old)

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 25
(3,531 Views)

Mark1357,

It would be better to start a new thread since this one is marked solved. Many people do not pay much attention to old, solved threads. This is probably the best Board for your question.

1. Please look at the online tutorials for Getting Started with LabVIEW.