LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

can I get nic drivers for labview rt ets

I am new to LV RT ETS so please be gentle.

I have read the forums and have tested my target and it has told me that I don't have a compatible NIC (Intel+Nvidia only by the smell of it)

I am using a Moxa V2100 series embedded PC that uses as Realtek RTL8168B/8111B Family NIC Chipset.

As a windows user, I would install drivers for this chipset either during install like a scsi or raid driver or afterwards like a standard NIC.

As a LV RT beginner, is it possible to do the same or is it a rigid software platform?

Thanks in advance

Tim L.

iTm - Senior Systems Engineer
uses: LABVIEW 2012 SP1 x86 on Windows 7 x64. cFP, cRIO, PXI-RT
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(2,263 Views)

There's no option to install an additional driver. You have to install a NIC with a supported chipset.

br Christian

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 4
(2,258 Views)

Thanks Cristian,

Unfortunately what I am using is a Moxa V2101 - it is essentialy a ruggedized netbook computer about the size of a desktop CD-ROM drive, about half of it is heatsink and ports. It's OS is on a compact flash card and data recorded on an SD card.

About the only option would be a usb-Ethernet adapter, I don't know what my chances of finding an intel version of this are, or if LV R/T can see it.

It sounds like I am stuck with Win XPe and LV runtime.

Looks like Microsoft will pick up yet another licence fee for the OS, Not NI.

I will continue to seek a solution with an intel ethernet chipset.

It would be good if NI would support a few more NIC manufactures.

I suspect that this product may have been a convenient spinoff from their PXI embedded PC development.

Tim L.

iTm - Senior Systems Engineer
uses: LABVIEW 2012 SP1 x86 on Windows 7 x64. cFP, cRIO, PXI-RT
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 4
(2,254 Views)

I think the OS ETS comes from IntervalZero so it's probably not on NI to expand the list of supported NIC's.