cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

cRIO, FPGA, portability to different I/O module configuration

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello people!

For my student research projekt, I need support.

I have to implement the NI-Tutorial:"CompactRIO Control Design and Simulation Tutorial" on another hardware.

my cRIO 9004 is no problem and the chassis NI9104 is the same.

Problems occure with the config of the I/O-Modules:

Tutorial-config: Slot5=NI9505, Slot8=NI9221

MyDevice-config: Slot1=NIcRIO-9215, Slot2=NI9263, Slot3=NI9217, Slot4=NI9474, Slot5=NIcRIO-9423

I think there should be an intelligent way to port this programm to another config and change the I/O-binding to another module without neckshoot the programm. just dont know how, because I am a LabView newbie.

your ff

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(3,029 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author ffelix

Hi ffelix,

So the tutorial works with a 9505 Motion Module (H-Bridge for Servos) and a 9221 AI Module.

In your configuration you have some AI, an AO, an RTD, an DI and a DO Module, but no Motion Module to control a Servo.

So if you plan to do a similar setup you will need to use the AO Module or a DO Module (PWM) with an external driver-circuit to control a motor. And instead of using the NI Motion software, which I think is used in the tutorial, you will need to programm the motor control part by yourself from scratch on.

Christian

Message 2 of 6
(3,017 Views)

hi christian

thx for your quick answer.

Yes you right, I need to do the PWM in a VI.

My mainproblem now is to get I/Os changed without killing the program.

Do you know, if there a list in LabView, that shows me all VI/places, where the I/Os, are used. Best would be a programwide exchange of special I/Os?

I also want to replace some I/Os by variables.

Funny thing is, that my motor (leybold-study-thing) has one AI and one AO, that I will use.

your ff

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 6
(2,996 Views)

Hi ffelix,