From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

best design idea for parallel DAQ (via GPIB), PID control and watchdog system

Hello!

I am a starter programmer in LabView, I already understand the basic ideas, and design patterns, like producer/consumer, events state machine, functional global variables, and so on, so the basics...

I started a project a few weeks ago, and first I wrote and tested all of the necessary subvi-s for my project, like the ones initializing my GPIB devices (a Keithley mux and a dvm), controlling/reading out the measured voltage/resistancy values from them, subvi for my Static Analog Output card (I have to drive 7 analog output channels, 4 has to be PID controlled regarding to some of the measured values from the GPIB devices), and another subvi for the analogue card, sending TTL watchdog signals out to my experiment in every 2 seconds.

Any idea is welcomed about suggesting the best design pattern for my project.

The main features of my program would be:

After starting the user interface the program starts with a start-up state, initializes the DAQmx channels and the GPIB devices. The program starts to read out different values from the GPIB devices, including 4 temperature values in every 3 seconds.

In the same loop (?), using PID control, the program sets the DC voltage values of 4 channels (3 to heating wires, 1 to a Peltier-heat pump) on the Static Waveform Analogue output card, the remaining 3 values are constants.

I have to send digital TTL watchdog signal to some relays from the same output card, changing its state in every 2 seconds (not the same rate as the GPIB values are read out).