LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

average in FPGA or RT

Hi all, I am very new to this Labview. I currently trying to measure voltage in the NI 9205. I went through the tutorial in the data logging to disk Link and i kinda build my application based on that. I want to take the average of some samples every so long. For exmple, i want to average 1 second of data every 20 seconds. I read through some of the posts that it mentioned some code that can be used. However, i am not sure where should i put the averaging. Would that be in the FPGA vi or the RT vi?? My logic told me that it should be at the FPGA vi b/c then i only need to pass data that i want to the FIFO and to the RT. However, i tried a few of them and none of them work.

Also, i used the DO channel on the 9205 to activiate a power supply which is needed for the measurement. Should that be in the FPGA vi or the RT vi. I have attached the pic of the vi i had here.

Thanks in advance for the help.

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(3,277 Views)

Hi

With reference to DO channel  can it drive the power supply? Or and you energising the power supply via another relay system?

You FPGA code does not take acount of any delay in the initialisationof the power supply. Also you appear to be turning it on before you execute

and turning it on again after execution. Your FPGA code is sampling 2 channels.

Yet your RT code is logging 4 channels. Suggest you modify you RT code to a producer consumer  architecture!

Log to your file in consumer loop.

In this simple case i would  do the averaging on the RT. 

xseadog

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(3,270 Views)

That was my work in progress shot. Yes, I used a relay circuit to trigger the power supply with the DO channel. I have attached the following pictures with the setup that i had. I tried to connect mean.vi and it said there is an error with the type of data. How could i convert the data??