cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

XY Graph - Autoscale + fixed margins

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

Total newb here.  I am currently plotting a circle on an XY Graph where the radius can be varied, so I have the x and y axis set to "Autoscale".  However, the autoscale  makes the edge of the circle go right up against the edge of the top, bottom, left and right boundaries of the plot region.  I would like to add a "margin", mainly for aesthetic purposes, so that there is some fixed amount of space between the plotted circle and the boundaries of the plot region. Hope this makes sense.  I am attaching pictures that I have created with autoscale OFF to try and help illustrate what I am after here.  Any help or guidance is appreciated.

Regards,

Doug

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(5,771 Views)

turn auto scaling off

You need to use property scale min-max form scale > range.

Ofcourse you know the radius and centre of circle so give the value of the scale accordingly. 

Message 2 of 8
(5,759 Views)

Thanks for your reply.  Just to clear, I would like to keep autoscale ON but also have a margin so that no matter what the size of the circle is, it looks good on the graph.  Looks like you are recommending a property node on the XY Graph.  I will explore that.  Thanks.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 8
(5,754 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Doug77

Hello Doug,

You should be able to add some buffer space by enabling the "Loose Fit" option in the right click>>(x,y) Scale menu.  This will round the autoscale to multiples of the Scaling Factors "Multiplier" value set in the Scale Properties window.