LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

XNET Linbus application - how to set up with cDaq and NI 9866?

Hi folks,

I am new to LIN Bus and to XNet and I am trying to to control an linear motor with LabView (2015) The motor only has two "Commands" and I would think this is a very simple task. Is there any beginners documentation? My motor remains quiet and I have already tried al lot. I looked also at the examples, but this was also not helpful.

I defined frames of different length in the database. I told my ecus which frame has to be send and which one has to be recceived. And I created sessions to do queued input or output.

I seem to misunderstand something, since I get error messages about property values which are not set correctly (do I have to check al property values?) and no data from my linbus device.

Ho can I send a frame to a slave which is filled up by it and how can I address a telegram to a slave which works as static command? Do I have to provide the checksum myself or is this done automatically?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(3,284 Views)

Hi,

the most comprehensive information source for XNET ist the NI-XNET Hardware and Software Manual:
http://www.ni.com/pdf/manuals/372840h.pdf

Best regards,
Christoph

Staff Applications Engineer
National Instruments
Certified LabVIEW Developer (CLD), Certified LabVIEW Embedded Systems Developer (CLED)

Don't forget Kudos for Good Answers, and Mark a solution if your problem is solved
Message 2 of 5
(3,246 Views)

Thank you for you answer. I have already found it although it was not linked in the manuals section of the NI 9866 on the NI website. I should have updated my post. It was not easy to find and due to this your suggestion is helpful also for others which have the same problem.

Also helpful was the NI Whitepaper on LIN Bus (http://www.ni.com/white-paper/9733/en/) although i does not cover the XNet programming stuff.