cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Writing multiple commands with serial communication

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

I'm relatively familiar with the basics of LabVIEW, but I am new to serial communication with VISA. I have had no luck finding a solution to my problem, but this one is similar: http://forums.ni.com/t5/LabVIEW/VISA-read-write-to-serial-port-Unable-to-impelement-multiple/td-p/93....

I am able to send a command and read the response with the device, but I cannot send multiple commands to change settings of the device. For example, I send 'F' to the device to read the current operating frequency, and read the response (22). But if I send 'f' to the device to change the operating frequency, read the response ("Send desired frequency..."), then send my desired frequency (120), I get no response.

The default frequency upon opening the port to the device is 22. I would like to change to frequency to 120, then read the current operating frequency to make sure it was properly changed.

I am confused on the data format to send within LabVIEW. In MatLab, it works out fine if I send 'f' as a character (fwrite), followed by the desired frequency as an integer. However, in LabVIEW, it seems the number I want to send is not being read properly. I have tried typecasting the integer to a string and reading it as slash code, hex code, normal code, everything I could think of.

Please help 🙂

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(10,502 Views)

First, have you tried to see if there are drivers available for your device? http://www.ni.com/downloads/instrument-drivers/

Next, type cast doesn't work the way you think it does. Use Format Into String to do what you want to do.

create frequency string.png