LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Writing dynamic data to chart

Hello,

I'm very new at LabVIEW and have run in to a problem that I can't find a good answer for.

Unfortunately, I'm not allowed to post my VI due to company rules, so I hope that my pictures and explanation will be enough, otherwise ask! 

So, I'm getting data with Modbus TCP and are presenting it on my front panel. The code is in a while-loop with a 100ms polling speed. All the data should then be both saved in a file and displayed in a chart. I'm currently connecting all my data to different subVIs, where they get transformed to dynamic data and given names for the excel-file, see image "step 1". The subVIs are then connected to a "merge signals" and then added to a "Write to measurement file", see image "step 2". This part works exactly as intended!

The problem is the chart. Connecting the dynamic data to the chart, either directly or as in image "step 3" will only result in a dot in the chart, and not actually a line with values. I know that dynamic data is only one value, but I'm missing something. If I take the values directly, merge them and then in to the chart it works as intended. Is there a way to do the same with the dynamic data? Or a good other way to do all this? I really do not want 119 values that has to be drawn across the entire VI to a giant "merge signals" and then into the chart. 

Thanks in advance!

Regards, 

Elina

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(3,128 Views)

Hi elicom,

The problem is the chart.

Most often the problem is NOT the chart, but the data wired to it…

Is there a way to do the same with the dynamic data? Or a good other way to do all this?

Sure: get rid of dynamic data wires (and ExpressVIs)…

I really do not want 119 values that has to be drawn across the entire VI to a giant "merge signals" and then into the chart. 

When you need to handle a lot of values an array is usually the tool of choice…

On your images: