LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Write to CSV Buffering

Hi everyone,

Hopefully this will be my last post for this project. Disclaimer in advance: I am brand new to LabView/coding in general so please be patient with mistakes, limited vocab, messy code, etc.

I had a VI written that pulled up an Excel sheet and wrote data to that in real time, but I was getting (what I will call) buffering by one second every few seconds near the beginning and up to a few seconds every other second after about thirty minutes. I anticipate I will need to run this code around 30 minutes at a time simultaneously with another instrument which properly collects data every second without buffering, so I can't have that. Someone told me the Excel solution I used was causing it to be inefficient, so I edited a LabView tutorial (Getting Started: Write Continuous Data to Spreadsheet (CSV) with Headers) to get it to write to a CSV instead. I think I got all of the actual data to work out finally, but I am still having the same issue that it skips a second every now and then, which adds up by the end. Does anyone have any solutions for this? The only thing I can think of is to fiddle with the while loop and/or for loop to keep the data collection running once a second but do the data writing later so it doesn't get backed up, but I haven't found a way to make that work yet.

Any advice would be appreciated! And again, beginner here so the simpler the terms you use the better- thanks!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(1,025 Views)

You should consider using a Producer/Consumer architecture.

A Producer/ Consumer does this:

1. The Producer loop acquires data (usually a lot of data at at a high speed) and puts it in a Queue (a FIFO buffer)
    1. Modern Prod/Con may use a Channel Wire instead of a Queue
  2. The Consumer loop removes data from the Queue then processes and/or saves it to disk