LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Would like help integrating hardware with the Continuous Measurement Data Logger template program

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello. I am very new to LabVIEW but not to programming. I just need something very simple and I'm sure you guys can help. I have a LakeShore Teslameter that has a usb connection. Would very much like to quickly get the "Continuous Measurement Data Logger" template program that ships with LabVIEW to work with this device. Secondly I was wondering how I can automatically have the program export to an excel spreadsheet when the "Stop" Button handler is called. a54fae8583ab2eddffe3cf49586464a4.pngc2b5834f82daaf525de09873ef0bf2e2.png

As you can see I have the template program block diagram here and have placed a "Write Delimited Spreadsheet" Function block inside the block of code that gets called when stop gets pressed. Question is, how do I link the data that was logged to this thing? Sorry to come off as a cowboy but this is the way I learn the best.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(2,178 Views)
Solution
Accepted by crash_override

The hardest part is probably going to be getting the right drivers for your instrument and getting LabVIEW to talk to it. Outside of National Instruments (and maybe some other big companies like Agilent, Tektronix, etc.) it is unlikely that most forum contributors will be familiar with your hardware. So the first step will be writing a tiny LabVIEW VI to communicate with your instrument, and eventually putting that into a loop to collect data continuously.

I think that template is not what you are looking for. That has 4 loops, and you can probably do what you want with 1 loop, and only add a second if you really need it. I would start with some kind of a state machine.