LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Wind tunnel speed adjustment

Hello,

I am currently writing a program to adjust the speed of a wind tunnel.  I have a few questions about my program and why it is working in a particular way.  In addition,  I am fairly new to LabVIEW so if someone see's a better way of constructing my program I am all for suggestions.  For example, I have a lot of nested loops which I just learned Consumer/Producer loops might eliminate.  I have learned a lot in the past few months but still have a long way to go.

Here is the overall goal IM trying to accomplish.  I am using an ABB ACS 550 drive to power a wind tunnel.  In addition, I am controlling the drive from LabVIEW using the digital outputs on my DAQ (NI USB-6211). 

The program I have attached, will start the wind tunnel, monitor the mach number, compare it to a target mach number, then adjust the RPM of the drive either up or down, and keep repeating the monitoring and adjusting until the target mach number (range with limits) is reached.  The one thing ive tried and have questions about is another timer. I inserted on in a frame before the daq assistants to allow the adjustment of RPM to stabilize.  I wanted to wait Sec before collecting the mach number again.  However when I did this it shortened the timer in the while loop.  Why is that? Lastly, if I put the timer to 3 sec I get an error (Code 200279).

Thanks for the help!  Again any suggestions for improvement would be greatly appreciated!

-Alex

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(2,552 Views)

Hi Alex,

Let me get some clarifying info from you. 

1) "I wanted to wait Sec before collecting..."  How many seconds did you want to wait?

2) Which timer did it shorten in the while loop? 

3) Which timer gives you error 200279 when you set it to 3 seconds?