LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Will there ever be a baked-in Actor framework in LabVIEW?

I've enjoyed programming with LabVIEW ever since version 7. I am self taught and have written many small programs. Writing small programs is a pleasure, but writing anything larger is still a plumbers' nightmare, witness the various 3rd party frameworks that have arisen. It's a puzzle that LabVIEW does not support a built-in Actor feature with a simple api. The paradigm has been around since the 1970s for linking process control tasks in minicomputers after all.

The 3rd party Actor frameworks are akin to the OOP frameworks that existed before GOOP. They were functional, very ingenious but very clunky too.

LabVIEW was originally designed to allow non-professional programmers to achieve their automation goal with as little fuss as possible. As it stands, writing a medium to large LabVIEW program still requires significant programming experience, which is a barrier to us mere mortals, as the underlying principles are simple:-

1. Launching  one or more subActors

2. Setting up their lines of communication

3. Providing synchronous and asynchronous request-reply and publish-subscribe

4. Persistence of settings from session to session

Is it likely that LabVIEW will have an in-built Actor feature in future? On the other hand - is it felt that the 3rd party solutions are still evolving, have some way to go to perfect a low-fuss solution and that the market requirement is best met by these. Lightweight / heavyweight solutions depending on the application. A built-in solution might not please all.

What do you think?

regards, Bob (retired EMC engineer looking forward to using LabVIEW community edition for his ham radio projects)

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(2,435 Views)

Here is the help page for the actor framework

Quote from here: