From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why doesn't this replace the XML in my file?

I am trying to write some code that replaces some XML in a file. The first part works (opening the file, locating the XML, replacing it). When I save the file, it contains the original XML not the modified XML.

I used the Get XML method to retrieve the text I wanted to change, Setting the Value property of the node doesn't seem to work but I don't know what else to try - I need the equivalent of a 'Set XML' invoke node but I haven't found it.

Any ideas? Am I even close?

(I'm new to XML and manipulating it in LabVIEW and I'm glazing over now so ideas which don't involve reading another 20 documents would be really appreciated, thank you Smiley Happy )

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,218 Views)

You are taking a roundabout way to changing that value.

In the meantime, I will not tell you to read 20 documents, but really, learn about XPath and Get First/All Matched Node.  I am still smacking my head uncontrollably from the sight of getting the XML text simply to do string matching.  I still can not unsee it....

In your case '1' is not the value of the node you found, the first child of that node is a text node with value '1'.  You get used to it.

SimpleXPathExample1.png

Message 2 of 7
(3,197 Views)

Well, Darin was first and I had same idea with XPath... So I'll post it anyway, just for the sake of effort taken 😛

xml.png

Actually, using XPath does not require "20 documents", it is quite easy, so I'd recommend you to take a look at it if you're going to use XML.

Message 3 of 7
(3,184 Views)

Thanks Darrin.K and PiDi,