LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why does write datalog sometimes take up to 20 seconds to complete?

I have been using this vi for a number of years with no problem. I recently upgraded to LV 2013 and added some functions to the code but haven't changed the write datalog function.

Basically when I make a change to a front panel object I want to save the settings so I write it to a datalog file as in the ChangeCrop.png file. I have been doing this since LV 2010 with no issues. After upgrading to LV 2013 and adding some functions unrelated to the write datalog, occasionally now during the write process things come to a grinding halt for up to 20 seconds.

Using probes I narrowed it down to the Open/Create/Replace Datalog.vi in the datalogDiagram.png file. Watching the time stamp on the probes I found the 20 seconds between the path creation and the completion of the Open....Datalog.vi

Any ideas?

Alan

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(2,527 Views)

I can't see what would cause your specific problem, but you should probibly change all the places you use the "metronome" wait function to the other one. They both will wait the same amount of time, but the metronome version creates a defacto synchronization between different parts of the application that shouldn't be synchronized.

Mike...

Certified Professional Instructor
Certified LabVIEW Architect
LabVIEW Champion

"... after all, He's not a tame lion..."

For help with grief and grieving.
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 13
(2,504 Views)

Your code is faulty.

(I assume that the datalog writing code is the VI in the upper right corner of the code shown.)

You are writing the same array (Channel settings) N times with a 100ms wait, it is suffcient to write the array once, so get rid of that while loop.

Where does "Number of acquisitions" get it's value? What is its default value?

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 13
(2,480 Views)

altenbach