LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why does my simple parallel loop run slowly?

Hey, I'm very new to LabVIEW and I'm using it for a uni assignment where I'm demonstrating parallel performance. I've made an EXTREMELY simple program but for some reason when I enable iteration parallelism it takes annoyingly longer to complete. How do I do this properly?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(2,777 Views)

Hi xbaras,

why do you think the VI takes longer to run? Where do you measure the time?

For me it takes the same time regardless of parallelism. The only caveat is: the numeric indicator will show different results because the iteration order is kind of random with parallelism…

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
Message 2 of 7
(2,770 Views)

There is an overhead cost to making the FOR loop parallelize (creating threads, memory allocation, etc).  For something as simple as this, you will actually lose performance.  Now if you do some decent sized FFTs, then you will see the benefit.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(2,725 Views)

@xbaras wrote:

Hey, I'm very new to LabVIEW and I'm using it for a uni assignment where I'm demonstrating parallel performance. I've made an EXTREMELY simple program but for some reason when I enable iteration parallelism it takes annoyingly longer to complete. How do I do this properly?

There is nothing in your loop that can be efficiently parallelized and each parallel instances need to access the transfer buffer for the indicator and since access cannot be simultaneous, there is more contention. Most of your effort is spend in the UI thread formatting and updating the indicator. Nothing parallel about that.