LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Why do the outputs and inputs of a sub vi seem to be backwards?

I'm very new to LabVIEW and am having trouble creating a main vi that contains a sub vi.

The problem is, the sub vi is supposed to have one input (an indicator text box) and a few outputs (boolean click buttons), but when I set these as the "pins" of the sub vi, the outputs are inputs and vice versa.

This seems backwards to me - shouldn't I be able to make a control text box in the main vi, change the text there and have it change the text in the sub vi's indicator box? I got the sub vi's front panel to pop up when the program runs, and the idea was to press the buttons there and have them affect the main vi (since they should be outputs).

I am sure I have the wrong idea about how this is supposed to work. Please help!

Adam
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(2,681 Views)
Hi,
In LabVIEW we have "controls" (inputs) and "indicators" (outputs). To pass values into a sub-vi the value is passed into one of its controls, and to get values out of a sub-vi they come out of the indicators. Of course, this is all ignore control references, property nodes, etc. that allow you to "cheat". So when your main vi writes some text into the sub-vi it is to a string control. You can make this control "off screen" or invisible, and then wire it to an indicator, but it isn't necessary. Now, if you have buttons to signal the operator's response to the message sent in they would be wired to indicators, which also may be "off screen" or invisible, which would be wired to the connector pane. In the standard usage the inputs (controls) are wired to the left hand of the connector pane, the outputs (indicators) to the right hand ones.

If this isn't what you need, keep asking and we'll keep answering!

P.M.
Putnam
Certified LabVIEW Developer

Senior Test Engineer North Shore Technology, Inc.
Currently using LV 2012-LabVIEW 2018, RT8.5

LabVIEW Champion

0 Kudos