From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Which to use: .lvlib, class, or xcontrol?

I'm fairly new to Labview and am just getting started in some of the more advanced features.  In my current application I need to manipulate 2D (and possibly 3D) spatial vectors.  I started off by creating a Vector typedef containing 2 values, Magnitude and Angle.  I then added several other functions to operate on vectors:  Add Vectors, Subtract Vectors, Change Angle, Change Magnitude, Negate Vector, XY Components, etc.

Initially this was just a collection of VIs stored in a folder, but I really don't like that organizational method.  For one, there are a couple helper VIs that have no real use to the end user and don't necessarily fit in with the Vector theme.  It also seems like it would be too easy for some VIs to be copied to another computer without the Vector typedef, potentially making maintenance and support a nightmare.  I really prefer a nicely packaged solution.

I switched the implementation over to a class, thinking a Vector object would fit well with my task and I could inherit a 3D Vector class from my 2D Vector class.  I still think like a procedural programmer so I find the Labview class implementation rather odd and am no longer sure it fits well.  Overriding methods in particular I found rather confusing.

Another thing I am considering is a Labview Library, which until yesterday I thought was depreciated in favor of Labview Projects.  From what I understand, Labview Libraries, or .lvlib files, are still "okay."  It's the .llb files that are discouraged.  Is this correct?