LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Which QMH template to use for controlling and logging? SPI communication conflict avoidance.

Hi!

I am starting to develop a new application and the question of the architecture but mostly how to adapt a template is coming in. I am not experienced enough in QMH to fully understand how it works and I'd need some advices.

Here are my thoughts:

I basically need to command&read up to 4 motors indivudually. All the control is done on their embedded PCB, So I basically just need to tell them to:

• Start/Stop
  • Speed and acceleration
  • Read/log their speed.

Communication is done via SPI and I have a USB-8451 I²C/SPI adapter from NI (https://www.ni.com/en-gb/support/model.usb-8451.html) I also need to read/log their current cousumption using an Agilent 34401.

The idea is to be able to individually and manually or automatically (via a time scheduled commands for instance) command all four motors and save the read data in a TDMS file.

For instance, a typical case would be:

• Start a sequence for Motor1 that'll run for 2 hours and continuously acquire&log its speed (and current) in the background.
  • Do some manual test with Motor2 in the meanwhile without logging them but visualising its speed.

So I'm thinking that Continuous Measurement and Logging template sounds like a great match. But I'm just unsure on how to deal with the multi control of the motors:

• Should I have one separate While Loop for every motor with its own communication?
    • Not great for future development
    • Easy to implement
    • potential big issues in protocol communication (trying to communicate with two wheels at the same time)
  • Should I have One loop for the communication, handling the commands sent and received and forwarding them to the proper "motors log"?
    • A bit more complicated to handle
    • Better for future dev
    • Communication "slower" (?)