LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Where does Labview save variables?

So I'm trying to read a text file line by line, and I've already seen some VI's that do this.  However, I want to go a step further and save some strings as local variables.  My background is in Matlab, where there's a 'workspace" where all local variables are saved and can be used/called later.  I was wondering a "workspace" of saved local variables exists within LabVIEW- and if not, how I would go about saving particular lines from my text file as some sort of variable that I can access later, or in a another sub-VI.

Thanks

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 16
(4,859 Views)
Hi,

LabVIEW doesn't use variables. It stores data in wires - THINK DATAFLOW!
Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 16
(4,844 Views)

You can think of wires as variables.

You really need to get a handle on dataflow though, and let go of text-based languages.

If you plop an ADD function on your diagram, the function needs two input wires.  As soon as somebody "writes" a wire, whoever is waiting on that data can execute.

The ADD function waits until BOTH inputs have a new value, then it executes, and puts the result on the wire going out of it, where some other function might be waiting on it.

There are places where actual storage happens, but think of wires as variables and you will get over the beginner's hurdle.

Steve Bird
Culverson Software - Elegant software that is a pleasure to use.
Culverson.com

Blog for (mostly LabVIEW) programmers: Tips And Tricks

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 16
(4,838 Views)