From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What's the hardware I need to use LabVIEW PID to control some heaters?

I, I'm currently at a college project working on a software in LabVIEW to analise some heat sensors and with that information control some heaters.

I'm searching and trying to design a PID controler to control the heaters but what is the NI Hardware to connect to my computer/server and use the labview PID information to turn the heaters on?

I'm new at LabVIEW and I'm not sure about what to do I was just told that I need a PID controler to control the heaters but I'm not sure how to do the PID as well as the hardware required to control it.

Thanks in advance sorry about the messy text

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 25
(3,879 Views)

I beleiev you are trying to do lot of things as a LabVIEW beginner.  Anyways to get started you will require the following:

1. LabVIEW software with PID toolkit

2. LabVIEW Controller, for a college project you can use NI-6008 and it should be ok or use any off the shelf third party Modbus hardware such as Galil Pocket PLC

3. Hardware to control the heaters such as  http://www.omega.com/pptst/SCR19.html .  Again I don't know the heaters so you may not even need this.  You can create your own low cost circuit by getting parts from radio Shack.

4.  Browse Ni website and you will find lots of VI examples which will demonstrate how to do a PID control

Good Luck!

Message 2 of 25
(3,835 Views)

I'm not sure about the choice of hardware suggested here. The USB-6008 has only analog voltage output (0-5V) and the Omega SCR power controller requires a 4-20mA current signal.