LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What is the best way to read all CAN messages in the Rx CAN Queue

Hi,

I am a bit new to labview but have a strong embedded programming and CAN background. I am currently using a sbRIO9626 with embedded CAN. 

This is in an automotive application where there are many CAN messages coming in but there may not be a CAN message in the queue every 5ms. The main way I service CAN is in a timed loop that runs every 5ms. I have a CAN read in while loop nested within the timed loop where my intention is that the while loop will execute until all the messages in the CAN recieve queue have been processed. The way I know there are no messages left is by comparing the CAN frame from the CANRead.vi to an empty CAN frame, if it is true the while loop will exit. I initially wanted to do a for loop based off the current size of the CAN recieve queue but from what I could gather from the help documents I couldn't find a way to do this. 

My problem is arising when I have no CAN messages to process. After a short duration of using the profiling tool my largest impactors to total time is the CANStatusToError.vi which is a NI supplied VI. It seems like when there are no messages in the queue and I call the CAN read VI it is making a huge impact to my CPU utilization. 

Is there a less impactful method to process all the CAN messages in the recieve queue I created? Has anyone else tried a different approach and seen better results?

Thanks!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(3,421 Views)

What software are you working with (NI-CAN vs. NI-XNET, version of LabVIEW, OS, etc) and have you used the LabVIEW example finder?

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(3,370 Views)

Hey George,

Versions are the following:

Labview 2014

NI-CAN 15.0

Now from what I can gather from the CAN library on my sbRIO is RIOEmbeddedCAN version 14.0.0