From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What is the best way to edit array elements (without making copies of the array)?

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello all

I am new to Labview so I apologise for the newbie question.

I am using Labview to check off parts in an assembly as a precursor to a test. For my "checklist" I create an array of clusters, with the cluster containing a string for the part number and a boolean to show if it has been scanned. I read in my parts list and then I would like to add in the part name to each cluster in the array. I do not want to make multiple copies of the array if possible. The code shown below does not work - I previously had the "Array" (my checklist) on the outside of the while loop, as I assumed the inplace elements box would not need an output. The cluster created in the inplace elements is correct, but the "Array" does not change.

InPlace elements.png

Any help woud be appreciated, I would prefer a simpler solution to the inplace elements if possible (again without making multiple copies).

Regards

Ray

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(2,337 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Radiator

You don't show the rest of the code, but I'm guessing that your "Array" is never actually initialized with any values. Thus, the "replace" cannot work since you cannot replace an element that doesn't exist. If the case you are showing is intended to be the actual initialization of the array (and based on what you are saying it seems as if that's the case), then ditch the inplace element structure. All you need to do is to autoindex from your string array and just do this:

Message 2 of 7
(2,331 Views)