LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What is the best approach for passing large clusters?

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi All,

I am relatively new to labview and developing a test automation.

For the purpose of this automation I need to read a row of data from a csv which can grow to 250 elements. I have a state machine that goes through a few states, and takes measurements and adds to that data another 200 elements. Ideally I would have used one cluster to pass the data between the states with a shift register but in this case the list of the elements doesn't fit on my screen. I can use a cluster of clusters but I would end up with two many bundle/un-bundles to the get to my elements. I know about global variables but also have heard a lot against using them.

It came across my mind that I can use a reference to the big cluster(450 elements) that is memory efficient and also easy to bundle/un-bundle and doesn't clutter my diagram with wires.Is this a good approach?

Any good suggestions are appriciated but bear in mind that I want to keep it simple.

Thanks very much

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 16
(3,961 Views)

I can use a cluster of clusters but I would end up with two many bundle/un-bundles to the get to my elements. 

Why? You can create a proper data hierarchy with descriptive names and sub-clusters! If you want to pick a subcluster, it takes only a single "Unbundle by Name"! Oh yes, and you MUST use Type defined cluster for your project, alongside with "Bundle/unbundle by names".

edit: and do not forget to make the subclusters also type defined. It will help you when you need to carry out modifications.

Message 2 of 16
(3,953 Views)

Although I agree that using Unbundle by Name to get to one node for however many sublevels necessary (along with Hide Full Names, if you want!) will be a good solution, if you have 250-450 elements, are they all distinctly named?