LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What is stopping you from switching to LabVIEW NXG? - VI server

Solved!
Go to solution

I'm curious to know how many people who have been using LabVIEW for a while would like to switch to NXG but can't because something they need isn't supported yet.

I've been developing applications in LabVIEW for over 15 years.  I would love to switch to NXG but I can't because my main, actively developed, applications rely heavily on VI server running parallel processes (or daemons).

Until this is fully supported there's no chance for me to switch.  Unfortunately I can't tell from the LabVIEW NXG roadmap how long it will be before it is adequately supported.

Am I wrong? Will it work? Where can I find more detailed information about NXG VI server capabilities?  All the software capability chart for NXG 3.1 says is Partial: "LabVIEW NXG provides VI execution control-asynchronous calling."

2019-07-09_10h35_25.pngWhat does that mean?

Am I alone in this?  What is preventing you from moving to NXG?

Troy - CLD "If a hammer is the only tool you have, everything starts to look like a nail." ~ Maslow/Kaplan - Law of the instrument
Message 1 of 91
(6,873 Views)

@TroyK wrote:

Am I alone in this?  What is preventing you from moving to NXG?

Of course you're not alone. I think even NI doesn't call it finished yet. 

What's preventing me (in no particular order):

+ (Intensity) Graphs couldn't hide there scales.

+ No Picture control functionality.

+ No 3D functionality.

+ No Picture control overlays in graphs\charts.

+ No SubPanels (I think that's fixed).

+ No\limited VI Server.

+ #1: That silly 'tunnel view', where 60% of my screen is used my information, where my code used to be Smiley Frustrated.

+ CG isn't broken \ no immediate reason Smiley Very Happy.

The progress on NXG is very impressive though. (Just what to stress that)