LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What is NI Device Monitor?

Solved!
Go to solution
I cannot find any documentation on the NI Device Monitor that sits in the system tray.  I don't need it (?) so I want to get rid of it.  But how do I restart it if I do need it?  I cannot find a shortcut installed in the menu and no reference to it in any of the settings.  A search of NI website doesn't even come up with a hit.
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(28,606 Views)

From what I understand, the NI Device Monitor is a service that will launch certain NI Software if an NI USB device (like a USB DAQ device) is plugged in.  I'm no expert on this stuff, but in the past, when there's been a service running on my machine, I go to Control Panel > Administrative Tools > Services and change the service from Automatic to Disabled.  If I need the service in the future (like in your case, if you ever buy an NI USB DAQ device), change the service back to Automatic.

-D

Message 2 of 13
(28,601 Views)
Device Monitor can be restarted by going to Start Menu->National Instruments->NI-DAQ->NI Device Monitor.
Message 3 of 13
(28,528 Views)

I am also plagued by the dialog, but I do not have anything called "NI Device Monitor" in my list of services. Is "NI Device Loader" the same thing? Here's my services list (the ones that start with "NI"). How many of these could I disable and still have my USB-6002 work?

Untitled.png

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 13
(21,257 Views)

Ah, NI does love installing lots of services! I think I count about 25 on my machine. I think 'NI Device Loader' is the one you're looking for. As for how many you can disable - if you're just using USB DAQ devices - probably most of them!

What is the NI Salt-Master though?! (I'm just curious...sounds cool!)

LabVIEW Champion, CLA, CLED, CTD
(blog)
Message 5 of 13
(21,238 Views)
Solution
Accepted by JackDunaway

Sam_Sharp wrote:

What is the NI Salt-Master though?! (I'm just curious...sounds cool!)