LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What are some good tips and advice for effective commenting on a VI?

I'm in the final stages of finishing my first real VI for actual use (it's been an interesting experience, honestly most of what I've learned has been from this forum so thanks!) and I'm considering how to best comment and annotate what I have to make it readable and understandable for any future developers. As I said, I'm very new at this and I don't want to ruin some developers life in a year or two by having bad code. Some specific questions:

Variable Names: In text based programming you'd try to keep your variable names logical and informative to make reading code easier. From what I've learned the wires can be labeled or named, and serve a similar role. How do you decide which wires are important to label, and which should be left? Are there any good general practices on how to name them (and specifically, do you just use the label thing or are there better ways)? Same questions for shift registers, etc.

Text Boxes: Text based code would have comments to describe the purpose of functions, the operations being done, etc. I could put text boxes around the block diagram, but is there a better way?

Non-visible parameters: One of the things that's been hard for me while learning LabVIEW was how many properties and parameters of objects are not defined programatically by default. For example, unless you set up something to do this specifically, an XY graph has dozens of properties defined only in the context window, some of which are important (loose scaling, stuff like that). First off, am I doing things wrong if this is the case, and second is there any way to give some sort of commenting on those properties?

Any other ideas: any other things you commonly see people mess up, or things that bug you when you read other people's VI's? How much should I try to make subVI's of parts of a large VI? things like that.