From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What architecture for my application?

Solved!
Go to solution

Good morning!

For my test bench I have developed the software in LabVIEW. In the recent months, I had asked several questions in this forum, but always regarding details of my implementation. Until now I have never really questioned the general architecture (which surely is a mistake I want to learn from).

What prompts this desire to review my work is that I'm currently not able to abort the complete progam or its sub-functions in a controlled way prematurely or if errors occur.

I hope you could give me some suggestions what architecture would fit my application best. I'm not really experienced in structured programming using i.e. producer/consumer architectures etc., and I will read up on them, but first I need a general nudge in the right direction.

First a short overview of my hard- and software:

HW:

• 3 different controllers controlling actuators
  • 2 different cameras

SW:

• Front panel for user interaction
  • Several measurement routines that use different combinations of the actuators and the cameras. For example "move to position 1 and take a picture, then move to position 2 etc." These routines can be quite extensive, including image analysis and decisions based upon the results. These routines sit in event cases of an event structure which in turn sits in my main program (the front panel program).