LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What Block (function) is this?

I'm doing a project and came across a block function that I have not seen before and can't seem to find any information about. What is it? I have attached it. 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 32
(3,226 Views)

Hello all, 

I have a Hampton VA HR 100 LVDT sensor. I want to measure the position of a rod within the LVDT sensor (displacement). I am new to Labview, but I managed to get a VI working. 

My first issue is that I cannot select the device as an LVDT Analog input, rather, it must be read as a Voltage input when I start up the DAQ assistant on the VI. That works, however, the movements of the rod seem to indicate an acceleration rather than a position change. I have attached the graph of the VI that I get for 10 samples at 100 Hz. I also attached the VI. I need to get it to read it as a position, hence the voltage reading should indicate a displacement, and not just go back down as soon as I stop moving the rod. 

I am using a NI USB-6009, with grounds connected to both the 5V pin digital side and the analog side. Any help is appreciated. 

Thanks. 

Alessandro Laspina. 

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 32
(3,172 Views)

That looks like a custom VI somebody wrote.  Is there anything in the context help?  What is inside of that VI?

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 32
(3,220 Views)

I was hoping that was not the case. This is the entire block diagram. I'm assuming it is a custom DAQ write or read VI. 

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 32
(3,213 Views)

@alaspina wrote:

I was hoping that was not the case. This is the entire block diagram. I'm assuming it is a custom DAQ write or read VI.