LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Weight management

Good day everyone,

I am fairly new to LabVIEW interface and this problem might not even a "problem" to pros.

So my task is to create a system that calculates remaining weight. First, the user will enter the maximum weight available. Then, as we enter a weight value, the available weight will be decreased. The process will need 4-5 weights to be entered. I really need your recommendations on how to do this.

Thanks in advance!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(3,277 Views)

Hi Qii,

First, the user will enter the maximum weight available. Then, as we enter a weight value, the available weight will be decreased. The process will need 4-5 weights to be entered.

- So you want to get the difference of two values? Use a subtract function!

- you want to repeat a certain task several times? Use a loop!

- you want to keep a value for the next loop iteration? Use a shift register!

General hint: Before starting to code you should create an algorithm. Draw that algorithm on a sheet of paper. (Yes, paper and pen…)

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
Message 2 of 10
(3,263 Views)

Thanks for your bright explanation. But still, I am clueless. The shift register does store previous values, but how do I stop it from a continuous loop; as I want to enter a new weight each time. Can you show me? I have attached you the picture of the code.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 10
(3,203 Views)

You are subtracting the same value millions of times per second, soon you'll be at -infinity. 😮

The "Weight of baggage" control will only get read once at the start of the program. If it should get read whenever it changes, place it inside the loop and use an event structure

You really need to start with a few LabVIEW beginners tutorials!

Message 4 of 10
(3,201 Views)