cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Webcam interface with labview

Hello all,

I need to interface webcam with labview 2011,

My requirement is as follows,

1. Capture the image read by webcam using labview.

2. Store it in local harddisk

3. Compare it with standard image stored in PC and decide whether read image is OK or not.

I am completely new to IMAQ and went through forum also. Can you tell me what are the steps to do this, how to getting started. What software I need to install for this,link and which webcam is good for this.

Thanks

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kudos are always welcome if you got solution to some extent.

I need my difficulties because they are necessary to enjoy my success.
--Ranjeet
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(4,526 Views)

Hi Ranjeet,

You can choose NI smart cameras and third party Basler or Axis camera supported by LabVIEW. To achieve target you have to install IMAQdx drivers(License Version). On any event or pragmatically you can click image and these images can compare with standard image.

Thanks and Regards
Himanshu Goyal | LabVIEW Engineer- Power System Automation
Values that steer us ahead: Passion | Innovation | Ambition | Diligence | Teamwork
It Only gets BETTER!!!
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(4,519 Views)

1. If you are using a webcam, ensure that the camera is compatible with DirectShow, and that the camera driver is installed and functioning.

2. You will need to install the Vision Acquisition Software. The software features the activation-based NI-IMAQdx driver for acquiring from DirectShow-compliant devices. A license for this software is included with all NI vision hardware and all NI vision software licenses, and is also sold separately for applications that do not require image processing or specialized hardware.