LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Waveform low frequency component's power

Hi everyone,

Can you please help me ?

I have a wav file (enclosed) that contains a recorded sound of an industrial motor. Here is it's waveform in time domain. the signal has three parts:

1.  The first div: there is no peaks
  2.  From div #2 to #6: There are peaks at 3Hz
  3.  From div #7 to the end: There are peaks at 4Hz

I have simailar wav files with different peaks amplitudes. There is some file that have huge peaks like this one and others with smaller values. I want to know how to do to distinguish between them. I need to analyse the waveform and say if it contains huge peaks or not. I want to use spectrum analysis. Can I use  the power of frequencies 3Hz and 4Hz.

Wavform time domaine.png 

NI Certified LabVIEW Associate Developer
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(3,092 Views)

I wish I was an expert in that area ( I am NOT) but the Sound ANd Vibration Toolkit has a lot of functions built-in.

I will wathc this thread to learn from those that know more about this topic.

Ben

Retired Senior Automation Systems Architect with Data Science Automation LabVIEW Champion Knight of NI and Prepper LinkedIn Profile YouTube Channel
Message 2 of 4
(3,073 Views)

It may not be very simple or straightforward.  With only one file it is impossible to know how things vary among the files.

I looked at the spectrum of the signal you posted. It has strong peaks at 292, 438, 585, 731, 120, and 36.666 Hz. There is a somewhat weaker peak at 146 Hz. The first four frequencies appear to be harmonically related to 146 Hz. Does this correlate with the rotational speed?  The peaks at 2.98 and 3.86 Hz are about 1/20 the amplitude of the six strong peaks. There is also broad band noise from about 1000 to 3000 Hz which is about 10 times larger than the 3 and 4 Hz peaks.  There are peaks at 6 and 7 Hz which are stronger than the 3 and 4 Hz peaks.