LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Waveform Display

Solved!
Go to solution

I am new to Labview, and I have been trying to display the waveform data from our Agilent 54642a oscilloscope on a waveform chart in Labview.  I am using a rs-232 serial port.   I think that I have serial port settings correct but I am not certain that I am using right commands to get data from the scope.  I am also not sure of how to get the data in the right format to display it in the waveform chart.  Do I need to put any of my operations in a loop to get them to work?  My VI is attached to this message.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 25
(3,223 Views)

Is there a reason you are choosing to use RS-232 when GPIB will present less headaches?

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 25
(3,221 Views)

First thing, I don't think the SCPI syntax is right.  I don't recall seeing the ::= operators as you have them used.  I don't have a manual in front of me just at the moment, but do verify those are correct. 

Second, the VI is broken as I downloaded it.  Possibly missing a VI??  The error line and VISA out were connected to the waveform chart.  If this is how you wired it, you need to convert the data returned on the "read buffer" line of the VISA Read to a format compatible with the waveform chart.

Final suggestion would be to take a look at the instrument driver available for download from www.ni.com/idnet.  For basic stuff I have found it works quiet well.

Troy
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 25
(3,219 Views)

nyc,

From my fuzzy memory (we own 5 of the same family of scope) that scope doesn't come standard with GPIB.  It was an extra cost option.  The later models we have been buying don't have GPIB either, but do have LAN interfaces and I prefer it even over GPIB these days.

Troy
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 25
(3,215 Views)

Help>Find Instrument Drivers is what you should have tried. And no, the syntax is not correct. With the driver, you do not have to worry about using the correct syntax.