LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Visa Write very slow. Using Hyerterminal everything is fine.

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

I am new to Labview. As a first test I am trying to read data from a piece of custom measurement equipment. By sending a command like e.g. "Sample 10" plus a line feed (Ascii 10) the device will return integer values at a rate of 10 Hz (each followed by a line feed character (Ascii 10)).

Using labview the first command that is send to the measurement equipment will take like 5 seconds to send. In hyperterminal the same thing takes no noticable amount of time.

To me it is even more strange that while the measurement device transmits new data Labview can send out a new command immediately (just like in hyperterminal...). But once the device stopped sending every new command would take again like 5 seconds to process/transmit.

Up to now I've tried to send commands byte by byte without success. In addition I played with the timeout of Visa serial and also the terminal characters without any success. 

Any ideas?

PS: I attached the code using a png (hopefully this is including the code).

PSS: Kind of nice write to something in English again. Reminds me of my exchange to the US as a student and the wonderful summer in Rhode Island...

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(940 Views)
Solution
Accepted by ArthurPauken

Hi Arthur,

@ArthurPauken wrote:

To me it is even more strange that while the measurement device transmits new data Labview can send out a new command immediately (just like in hyperterminal...). But once the device stopped sending every new command would take again like 5 seconds to process/transmit.

Up to now I've tried to send commands byte by byte without success. In addition I played with the timeout of Visa serial and also the terminal characters without any success. 

Any ideas?