LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

VISA timeout error -1073807339 with Keithley 6221 and SR 860

Hey there! I am new to Labview and I am having trouble with a timeout error/error -1073807339. I’m trying to operate a Keithley 6221 ac/dc current source and an SR 860 lock-in amplifier (separately for now), and since there is no premade driver for the lock-in, I need to operate them through NI VISA. As of right now all I’m trying to do is make sure everything is communicating correctly between the instruments and the PC. They are connected via ethernet cables, and seem to be functioning correctly in NI MAX. I’ve made the following VI, which gives a timeout error if anything is written into the “write buffer.”

However, no error occurs when no value is given. I am not sure why this is, or how to make it work in both cases. Thanks in advance for your help!

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(2,820 Views)

Two questions:

1.  Are you sending a termination character with the command you are writing?  Without a termination character, the device probably doesn't know you finished your message and isn't returning a response.

2.  Why do you have the number of bytes written wired to the number of bytes to read?  Do you expect the length of the message going out will exactly match the length of the response?  That is highly unlikely.  You should read back a number of bytes that is larger than the longest message you expect to receive, assuming your device sends responses with a termination character and you've configure your serial port to enable the termination character.  In your code, I can't tell if you have because you didn't use the Serial Configure subVI.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(2,796 Views)