LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

VISA Serial reading and writing

Hello! I'm fairly new to the labview experince and whilst I think i've got the basics under wraps and gone through examples, i'm still a bit confused with a project i'm working on. I'm working on a basic train simulation where Labview interfaces with a PIC controller. The PIC tells labview when the train has arrived at the station by sending a 'A' (for arrived) to labview, once Labview has read this 'A' I then want to be able to send it a 'M' to move. The PIC itself times and sends the character but as this is a simulation I want it to flow from case to case unless told otherwise. This is the basics of what I want to do, but I have a few questions.

so think I have VISA W writing 'M' to the serial (not tested, but going on examples it looks right) which is great, but is there an option to be able keep the constant string 'M' unless I state it to 'J' (jump a case) or 'R' (reverse the journey)? With 'R' for reverse, can I get labview to reverse through the cases? 

Also, i'm having problems getting the string constant 'A' (for arrived) to be read into VISA R.

and one last question for now, because I want to turn a LED on each case on the simulation only (the PIC handles the actual LEDs) can I just put a true statement next to the one I want on? and will this then turn off once it goes to the next case? 

Many thanks!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(2,095 Views)

Does communication in a terminal program work with the PIC controller?  Serial communication can be tricky, and it is always best to get the basics worked out in your terminal program.

"so think I have VISA W writing 'M' to the serial (not tested, but going on examples it looks right) which is great, but is there an option to be able keep the constant string 'M' unless I state it to 'J' (jump a case) or 'R' (reverse the journey)? With 'R' for reverse, can I get labview to reverse through the cases?"