From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

VI works fine in design mode but does not work after being compiled into executable

This is an URGENT question!

I created a VI using LV 6.1 + IMAQ 6.1. It work find in the development environtment. But the I compiled the VI using Application Builder 6.1. After that the executable file would work in many ways differently than in design mode: It does not read file, gives some weird errors, does not read/write *.ini file.

I am a new Application builder user. Please, let me know if I missed something.

Thanks a lot,
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(2,857 Views)
Well this kind of errors is due to the way you programmed.

Before creating an exe file, you should save your VI and sub vis in a llb. once it runs in the llb, you will have less errors in your soft.

How did you defined your file path relative/absolute?

Doc-Doc
Doc-Doc
http://www.machinevision.ch
http://visionindustrielle.ch
Please take time to rate this answer
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(2,856 Views)
Doc Doc is correct. The problem is that the *exe file for a built application is constructed in the same manner as a *.llb file, with your main application VI stored inside it. This means that the path of your VI changes when you convert it from an unbuilt *.vi file to an *.exe file. The easiest method to get round this is to put your apllication in a lib in the first place. This way, the path does not change when you build it. Hope this helps.
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(2,856 Views)
Thanks a lot Ged. My VI got compiled successfully. There are just problems, when using it. It does not read file correctly (my application has to read binary, text, image files from local folder).

Thanks,
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 9