LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

VI still in memory -please help

Hi

I have used this method to close a vi and open another another one with a click but the problem is after closing the vi(inverting.vi) it remain still in memory so when I want to open it again I get a message somthing like it is in use or it is in memory.Would you please help me how can I close th vi properly or is there and easier way to close one vi and open another one at the same time

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(2,863 Views)

All you do is close the front panel of the VI. Unless it detects this itself and stops itself it will still be running in the background.

Without seeing its code it is difficult to say if simply aborting it is permissible, and whether this will unload it from memory. The best would be to send it a notification to stop itself gracefully.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(2,850 Views)

Hello En99

I am an Application Engineer here at National Instruments and as I understand you are having problems with loading and closing vi's and their references. Here are some resources that may help you, if you still have problems, please get in touch and I will support you further.

How Can I Programmatically Close All Open SubVI Front Panels Without Closing Select VI Front Panels? - http://digital.ni.com/public.nsf/allkb/353A696A3F393D9B86256E8B007A2912?OpenDocument

How Do I Close a Dynamically Called VI's Front Panel? - http://digital.ni.com/public.nsf/allkb/987B2026B41BD39786256CF800032E8C?OpenDocument

Programmatically Opening and Closing a VI Within Another VI - http://digital.ni.com/public.nsf/allkb/9282BA6C907DF5B2862572480069E570?OpenDocument

Please feel free to ask any further questions.

Regards

Stephanie L
Applications Engineer
National Instruments UK and Ireland
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 10
(2,815 Views)

From the help: on open VI reference