LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

VI for recording data

Hi all,

I am a mechatronics student, and am new to labview. Needed some help with a few things to get started. I am using labview student edition 2009 and a NI 9213 temperature module with NI USB 9162. I wanted to design a VI that would in essence do the following tasks:

1. Check to see how many sensors are connected and display LEDs for the same.

2. Take an average of the sensors values. (but only those which are connected).

3. Show sensor values and deviation of the individual values from the calculated average.

I have started the design of the VI but am just in the basics. I wanted to know how it is possible to check data coming from DAQ satisfies a set of given 'if then else' conditions?

I hope you can help me out.

Message 1 of 6
(2,445 Views)

Well I don't ever use the DAQ Assistant or the Dynamic Data Type but I can help you with two things right off the bat.

1.  TCs report a very high number when they're NOT connected.  Almost all types can go below 0 degrees (C or F).  So, using less than zero isn't a valid way to determine if a TC is hooked up to a channel.  Try actually disconnecting one and see what temperature comes back.  (Hint: If it's close to the surface of the sun it's probably not valid. Smiley Wink)

2.  DAQ code set up for multiple channels returns an ARRAY of values.  Index that array in a loop and put your code there rather than copying everything 16 times.

LabVIEW Pro Dev & Measurement Studio Pro (VS Pro) 2019 - Unfortunately now moving back to C#, .NET, Python due to forced change to subscription model by NI. 8^{
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(2,436 Views)

Hi,