From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using an events count and a difference of counts, how can I set up a cyclometer function?

Hi,

First of all I have very little experience with LabView and I'm currently trying to develop a cyclometer as follows:

There are 4 magnets in a wheel. A reed swtich is attached to the frame which activates when a magnet passes by, therefore 1 revolution = 4 counts.

I have a Count Digital Events code and a Difference of counts (both attached below) but I'm getting confused on how to integrate or use both to create a cyclometer function. I want to be able to calculate the distance traveled, velocity with moving average, velocity without moving average and average velocity(overall).

So far I think I got the total distance figured out:

Using the Count Digital Events code, I count a number of counts, the divide by 4 ( because there are 4 magnets). This gives me 1 revolution. Then the tire has a circumference of 2*pi*r, therefore the total distance is: (number of counts/4)*(2*pi*r).

My next step was to calculate the velocity. My idea is that if I set the Count Digital Events code to run the loop every second, I will get a measurement of counts per second, which then I can convert to velocity and rev/min.  However I have attempted to do this but I can't figure out a way to make the Count Digital Events code do this, or even if this is the correct approach to calculate the velocity.

Once I get the instantaneous velocity and distance figured out I will go onto figuring out how to do the velocity with moving average and average velocity overall. Also, I believe I should use the Difference of Counts code but I'm not sure how it would be helpful.