LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using a S2M transducer to read force measurements. New to LabVIEW.

Hey!

My aim is to study the frictional force in an arm that is in touch with a 20N S2M force transducer. I have then connected the S2M in a full bridge configuration but since I inherited this machine I am not sure about the values to use as minimum and maximum in the force measurement. It says that the reading is 20N- 2 mV/V. Another question I have is how to setup a vi in LabVIEW to continuously record the force values using a NI 9219 reader and a cDAQ-9171 reader. I am new to LabVIEW so would appreciate all the help. Thanks :).

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 30
(2,187 Views)

Hi Vin,

To get started with the 9219, take a look at the Analog Input examples.

You can find examples by opening LabVIEW and going to Help > Find Examples...

If you don't know what you're looking for (usually the case) then use the search tab (not the directory layout).

Note you might sometimes have to scroll a lot, the search isn't amazing...

For your particular example, I'd suggest taking a look at something like "Voltage - Continuous Input".

2mV/V is your sensitivity, it tells you that at full scale (so 20N) you'll get an output of 2mV for each volt of excitation you supply to the bridge.

Since a typical excitation (from your power supply) might be ~10V, that's only 20mV...

Usually you also use an amplifier to increase this value before digitizing the result. So force transducers include an amplifier, some do not.

Depending on your accuracy requirements, this might be more or less required (but probably it is required).

Some NI modules are specifically designed for measuring bridge configurations, but the 9219 is not one of them (this doesn't mean it won't work - just that you'll need to provide a suitable input, and 20mV at full scale probably isn't enough to have good resolution assuming you're wanting variation in output with varying force 😉 )