LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using DAQmx with a USB6212 and BNC2110, New to DAQmx communication

Solved!
Go to solution

Hey all, I am new to using DAQmx communication protocol and I am having trouble figuring out how to complete my task.

I can trigger a digital output, and I can trigger the counter for timing  (externally, I want to use it internally) (I am assuming implicit timing means the clock internal to the USB6212),  but I can't figure out how to use the internal timing to trigger the digital input. Yes, I did piece together bits from the standard LabVIEW examples.

My goal short-term goal is to use the internal clock on the USB-6212 to trigger a square wave on the digital channel so the timing is consistent. My long-term goal is to use the internal clock to trigger a set of digital inputs in a user variable sequence.   

sstats_0-1641568407777.png

Any help would be appreciated! I am sure there are more efficient ways to do what I am doing.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(1,098 Views)

First, what you're describing is considered a "sample clock" in DAQmx.  Samples are acquired or generated on every sample clock active edge.  Triggers are a distinct thing, used to denote a single reference point (often the start) for an acquisition task.

Second, I'd recommend you start by pairing up 2 shipping examples.  Let one of them be a Counter Output example for continuous pulses (not the buffered one) where you select a specific PFI pin as the output terminal.  The other one should be a continuous digital input or output where you select the same PFI pin as your "sample clock source".

If you run both at the same time, the sample clocking action for the DIO task will be provided by the counter pulse output task.

That'll at least get you started with how it *can* work.

-Kevin P