cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Upgrading LabVIEW code from 8.6 to 2020

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

As an absolute beginner on LabVIEW, I have been assigned to upgrade a really old program that works with the traditional DAQ Vis.

I have checked out the "Transition from Traditional NI-DAQ (Legacy) to NI-DAQmx in LabVIEW - NI  " documentation concerning the transition. However, unlike the "AI" Vis, our company's code uses "DIO" Vis.

In my case, I have to replace those Vis :

- DIO Config

- DIO Write

- DIO Read

- DIO Start

- DIO Clear

- DIO Wait

Are there any typical way to replace those ? I've tried considering that "DIO" Vis are "AI" Vis and replace according to the documentation but the wiring's doesn't seem to match.

By the way, we're using NI-6534 DAQ and we wish to replace it with the 6535 DAQ, if somebody happened to upgrade the same way, please enlighten me about the way you did it.

I would appreciate any help, thank you for your attention!

PS: Please don't hesitate to correct anything I could've misunderstood.

Thank you in advance.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(1,961 Views)

I suggest you spend time browsing through the DAQmx examples in Help >> Find Examples.  Before you try to upgrade old traditional DAQ code, just work with DAQmx in a few simple projects.  Once you know how DAQmx works, it will be easier for you to understand how to make the transition.

It really isn't that hard.

Message 2 of 12
(1,956 Views)

@RavensFan wrote:

I suggest you spend time browsing through the DAQmx examples in Help >> Find Examples.  Before you try to upgrade old traditional DAQ code, just work with DAQmx in a few simple projects.  Once you know how DAQmx works, it will be easier for you to understand how to make the transition.

It really isn't that hard.

I'd like to say that myself but won't.   A 12 year plus technology jump is not a beginner task!