LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unwanted data strings in settings, for connectivity to serial port.

When my program connects to the unit, threw the serial port its recording an unwanted string value in my setting files. Causing "19,Read Key (Boolean).vie" Error to be recorded. Unable to locate where and why this is happening in my VI. Im very new to labview and still learning the basic. I have came up with the conclusion that this error started to happen ever since the last LABVIEW update. (Version 13.0f2).

Thank you, 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(2,816 Views)

Sorry, Not enough information to even attempt a guess..

To get better help try to supply as much information as you can, even the code if possible.

In general Serial comms require established config like Baud rate Parity  stop bits and so on when opening the port and a solid way of determining when the device has finished transmitting data back to you after you query it..

If you can get these two nailed down the rest will work out OK.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 14
(2,808 Views)

Nobody can even attempt to answer this without seeing your code.

========================
=== Engineer Ambiguously ===
========================
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 14
(2,782 Views)

Ok here is the code im having trouble with. 

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 14
(2,745 Views)

@PlasmaBud wrote:

Ok here is the code im having trouble with. 

This is not the code you are having trouble with.

First, why are you using the 8.6 compatability open config file?  replace that with the 2009 or later version the API got a major upgrade in 2009 and the old and new apis do not mix well.

Next, How about attaching the ini?  what is written to disc? what do you want written to disc?  what is reading from the file?  (That is the vi throwing the error 19)

"Should be" isn't "Is" -Jay
0 Kudos
Message 5 of 14
(2,733 Views)

To translate Jeff's first assertion: