From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unique ID for all front panel object

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

I am a seasoned LabVIEW developer (+20yrs), and for my current project, I have to make a multilingual GUI.

I've done this in the past, by displaying the caption of front panel controls and indicators, and changing this caption programmatically, based on the label text.

However, this approach (based on the label) has its disadvantages : it does not allow you change static texts on the front panel (as it does not have a diagram counterpart). Also I get in trouble when objects might have the same label name.

So now what I did was this : By getting the VIs Server "Front Panel"-ref property from a VI, and then getting the "Controls[ ]"-property from this front panel, I get a list of references to all front panel objects (including static texts). Each green refnum, I can typecast it to a U32! So I have unique ID's for each front panel object.

In my database, I then store all translation data, linked to this unique U32 number.

I tested that on exiting Labview and restarting the Labview application, the U32 values remained the same. They did, my ID's were remanent/persistant. Hurray!

However now after completely writing this language module, I see that the U32 refs have changed after all, probably when saving/recompiling from LabVIEW 2019 32-bit to LabVIEW 2019 64-bit.

Anybody have any tips to get a permanent GUID to each front panel object?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 29
(1,888 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author ThomasV

Hi Thomas,

@ThomasV wrote:

Anybody have any tips to get a permanent GUID to each front panel object?