cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unflatten JSON Explainer

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I <thought> that I was a fairly experienced LV programmer but am quite stuck trying to unflatten a JSON.  For reference I am building a CNC controller for the TinyG board using LabView.

Could someone help me understand how to unflatten this particular JSON?

{"sr":{"line":0,"posx":0.006,"posy":0.000,"posz":-7.000,"posa":3.000,"feed":0.000,"vel":62.008,"unit":1,"coor":1,"dist":0,"frmo":0,"momo":0,"stat":5}}

What if the response from a VISA serial read is not "sr" but is "r" such as:

{"r":{"xjm":5000000000.000},"f":[1,0,11,6649]}

I've tried wiring up a bunch of scenarios and it crashing saying it cannot find the elements, and I can't quite understand the documentation on using the path.

Thanks for the help!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(4,320 Views)

That JSON string looks like a cluster with a cluster inside of it. I was able to parse it this way:

snippet.png

If the instrument does respond with a different syntax, I expect the unflatten function to fail because it would require a different input cluster. I recommend you do an evaluation before running the string into the Unflatten From JSON function. You can consider using a Regular Expression.

Regards,

Message 2 of 9
(4,302 Views)

Thanks for the reply!  I have been using the regular expression so far as stand alone, though it makes sense to use the regular as a filtering tool then to unflatten the JSON as you've shown as clusters. 

How would I use the 'Path' function to just extract one of the elements in those clusters, for instance the "stat" U8?

That is also getting me because the "sr" JSON doesn't always come back with every element every time.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 9
(4,297 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author JFWM

I recommend checking out the JSON example that ships with LabVIEW.

Help > Find Examples.. > Fundamentals > Strings > Unflatten from JSON.vi